Tasty Tuesday – Chopped Chicken Taco Salad

It’s finally cool enough out to use my stove, and what does my family request?  Tacos!  You all know how much we love our tacos (we even make our own Taco Seasoning), but I’m always looking to find a bit of change, so this week’s Pinterest kitchen experiment was Chopped Chicken Taco Salads.  Now, I can honestly say that I didn’t really follow this recipe very well.  I didn’t make the dressing, I didn’t make the quesadillas, and I changed the dressing…  So, I guess that means I created my own recipe for this one.

First I gathered my usual taco subjects (lettuce, tomato, red onion, avocado, chicken, homemade taco seasoning, shredded cheese, sour cream, and black olives) then I add some tortilla chips into the mix and I had all of my ingredients.

Once I had everything together, I set about chopping everything into bite size pieces.

onions

onions

avocados

avocados

chicken

chicken

tomatoes

tomatoes

Once everything was prepped, I took the chopped up chicken and sauteed it and added a couple of tablespoons of our homemade taco seasoning and half a cup of water.  I let it all simmer together for about 10 minutes to thicken and absorb the spices nicely.

When that was all set, I assembled the salads – lettuce on the bottom, then crumbled tortilla chips, then avocado, tomato, chicken, cheese, and some black olives.  Once I had the salad built I took some of the left over taco sauce and mixed it in with some sour cream, as a dressing for the salads.

They were very yummy.  We served them with some refried beans (which I really don’t like).

image (22)

A quick and easy weeknight dinner and a more portion conscious version of Tacos for my family.

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

