Quest to Read them All – Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle

So it’s Friday and time for my weekly update on my quest to read every book I own.  I’ve come to the conclusion that this is going to be a never-ending quest, because I just can’t seem to stop buying more books.  It’s a self defeating quest, but I’m making a valiant effort!

This week’s installment is about Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle.

cats cradle

This is not a book I would normally pick to read, but I have a pretty substantial collection of “Modern Classics” and this book does qualify in that category.  It wasn’t my favorite, but it also wasn’t terrible.  The reason I read this book now was, because I had a school project I was working on about updating the current book selections in secondary English classes and I used this book as a possible replacement for A Brave New World.  Both books are dystopian fiction, but Cat’s Cradle is a slightly newer piece.  It takes on the idea of a post apocalyptic society and the ramifications of that apocalypse on the people that orchestrated the collapse.  There’s an interesting thread throughout the book that deals with the Hoenicker family and all of their foibles; however, I never really felt a connection to the characters.  The flow of the story was engaging enough to keep me interested, despite the lifeless characters.  The book dealt with many of the themes that high school English teachers yearn for in the books we share with our students – religion, change of power, chaos vs. order, displacement, and so many more…  While the book is a good selection for a high school classroom it isn’t one that I will read again for pleasure.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all, self improvement

Leave a Reply

