Could I really do that to a book???

I guess the answer to that question is yes, yes I can and in fact actually did do that to 7 books.  What horrible thing did I do to desecrate a book, or actually 7?  I cut pages out of each of the Harry Potter books.  I know this may make your head hurt, I took me months of hemming and hawing to actually accept the fact that I was really willing to do this to objects I value on multiple levels.

But I’m getting ahead of myself…  So today’s Wednesday and that means it is Pinterest project day.  This week’s project is Harry Potter Coasters.  I’ve seen hundreds of different versions of these on Pinterest.  Everything from quotes to House Emblems.  All of them were cool, but none of them were exactly what I wanted.

So I went ahead and ordered some well used copies of the books online, because there was absolutely NO WAY I was going to damage any of my copies of the books.  (I have to admit that I’m a bit of a freak considering I have each of the books in hardcover, paperback, and the original British hardcover editions.)  I love the images that were used as the chapter introductions, but I couldn’t decide which individual chapters to use.  I was stuck – if I followed my heart I’d end up with 28 coasters…  So I went to the powers that be around my house and got some advise on how to narrow down my options.  We decided to use the title page art work for each book and then select one chapter image that really was representative of the entire series.

Now that I’d chosen the images I wanted to use I could get down to the actual act of making the coasters.  There were no directions for this project, because I’m me and changed what I had originally pinned to suit my needs.  So I had to wing it.  I took the directions for another coaster making project and modified them to fit my own needs.

I gathered my supplies – the books, 8 4×4 porcelain tiles, cork contact paper, modge podge, a sponge paintbrush and an exacto knife.  The entire project took me about 3 hours, because you have to allow for drying time.

First I cut out the pages I had chosen.  This gave me real pause.  It made my heart hurt.  I’m an English teacher by trade and a book lover to the core, so this was a hard choice to make.  I resigned myself to it, because I knew that the books had all been read before and were going to be used for multiple crafting purposes.

image (71)   image (70)   image (69)

Then I trimmed the pages to fit the 4×4 tiles, coated the tiles with modge podge and laid the pages on top of each piece.

image (80)   image (65)   image (66)

Then I coated the top of each coaster page with 3 applications of modge podge.  Making sure to allow each coat to dry completely before moving on to the next application.

image (79)   image (78)  image (68)

1st coat

1st coat

2nd coat

2nd coat

 

final coat

final coat

Once I had completed the decoupaging I adhered the cork contact5 paper to the back of each coaster to make them slip resistant.

image (74)

Now that they were backed and coated I was all finished!  It was really a fairly simple project and I can’t wait to make some similar coasters with varied themes.

Here’s a shot of the finished product…  What do you think?

image (72)

8 Comments

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, projecty type stuff

8 responses to “Could I really do that to a book???

  1. I like it! But I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to cut up books either!

  2. Thats awesome! I wouldnt do that to my books either… but I could always get a 2nd hand book and do that.

  3. Book Lover

    With the quality of digital photography and scanned images, it’s NOT okay to cut up a book. Shame on you!

  4. Oh, I relate on the not being able to cut up or desecrate books. I have done 1 project ever that required that, it was REALLY hard. Even doing it to the used magazines for design class and architecture was hard and I didn’t have a choice.
    Your coasters look good, I like your choice of image, but since you have the working books now, I can think of several other good options from inside the books. I see why you felt a print wouldn’t have the same feel and look…a book has a feel and texture all it’s own.
    I noticed in your description you are a Disney girl 🙂 I worked at the Hawaii resort Aulani for a year and miss it immensely.

    • I’d love your suggestions… I have at least 2 other projects pending with those books – one is candle jars and the other is a photography type thing.

      I’m totally a Disney girl! I can’t wait to go to the Hawaii resort – hopefully this winter, one of my cousins lives in Hawaii now so were are talking about spending the holidays in paradise…

Leave a Reply

