Tasty Tuesday – The Late Edition

Ok, I know it’s no longer Tuesday, but the craziness that is my life happened to intrude yesterday, and I just couldn’t get my post done…  But I’m bound and determined to keep up with this project, so better late than never…

I’ve headed back to Pinterest for my next kitchen excursion.  This week’s recipe is actually 2 separate dishes, because I don’t eat red meat and the rest of my crew likes it!  I chose to make 2 grilled recipes for this week’s installment because of the holiday weekend and the unofficial beginning of the summer barbecuing season!

The first recipe I made was for a grilled caprese chicken dish.  I did something very unusual for this recipe – I left it completely alone and just followed the directions exactly.  It was a very straightforward meal, and was surprisingly yummy!

First I cut up all my ingredients – fresh mozzarella, beefsteak tomato, fresh basil and boneless skinless chicken breasts.

image (13)   image (14)

Then I brushed the grill down with olive oil and cooked the chicken.

image (12)  image (11)

While the chicken was getting all those pretty grilled stripes I made a simple balsamic reduction infused with a bit of butter.  Then it was time to put it all together!

image (7)  image (6)

Next time, and yes there will totally be a next time, I’m going to put the cheese on while the chicken is still on the grill so it gets a bit more melty…

Now for the second half of our Memorial Day grilling extravaganza – Rolled Stuffed Steak!  This wasn’t exactly a recipe.  The pin I chose just brought you to an image.  It was a multi stage image, but there were no specific directions, so I got to improvise!  One of my favorite things to do in the kitchen.  I chose to take my steak in a Matambre type direction.  Matambre was an experience I first enjoyed when I was visiting friends in Colorado, back when I still ate red meat.

So, because there was no recipe I’ll give you my own directions here:

First I gathered everything I’d need:  carrots, celery, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, Pepper Jack Cheese (or regular Monterey Jack Cheese for the nonspicy among us), flank steak, olive oil, salt & pepper.  (You can use anything you really want as the filler in these.  The Matambre I enjoyed in Colorado had some Kielbasa and jalapeno pepper instead of green pepper.)

Next I prepped everything.  Julienne veggies and sandwich sized pieces of steak.

image (4) (not the best picture, but that’s everything…)

Once I was all prepped and ready to go I started stacking and rolling the steak.  I put a little bit of everything inside the steak and rolled it up into a neat little bundle.

image (5)  image (3)  image (2)

Once everything was all rolled up and pretty I put them on my olive oil basted grill…

image (10)  image (9)

I made sure to season prior to grilling everything – my grandmother always said that the key ingredient in all recipes is salt & pepper.  I’m a firm believer in not overstimulating you grilling food.  Put it down, let it sit there and get all brown and grilled on one side and turn it over and repeat the process on the other side.

I took them off the grilled, plated everything on my fine china (gotta love the paper plate!) and served them along with the chicken and some grilled asparagus.

image (8)

 

Overall it was a very yummy dinner!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under family drama, mixed up crazy world, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

