Quest to Read Them All – Wicked Business

I continue on my quest to read every book I own, and I have to tell you I’m really enjoying this journey.  I’m trying to spread the type of books I’m reading out and get a good mix of genre, age range and style.  This week’s installment is by one of my current favorite authors, Janet Evanovich.  I love her witty style and the fact that she just doesn’t seem to take herself to seriously, even though she’s a New York Times Bestselling Author 20 times over…  I’m a huge fan of her Stephanie Plum novels (not so much the movie version).  I am interested to read her new book The Heist, which she coauthored with Lee Goldberg.  It will join the ranks of my To Be Read List, but this entry is about her second book in the Wicked series!

Wicked Business paperback

Wicked Business

I love Lizzie and Diesel.  I even have a soft spot for Carl & Cat 7143.  Wulf is kinda cool too, and even Hatchet is growing on me – psychotic as he may be.  This installment in the series was quite well crafted.  Just to recap Lizzie and Diesel are unmentionables and on a quest to prevent Wulf and his minion from getting their hands on the SALIGIA stones.  The stones represent the 7 deadly sins and are supposedly connected to Pandora’s Box, which is an interesting underlying theme of the series.  Each individual book addresses a specific sin – the first book, Wicked Appetite, dealt with gluttony.  This one is centered around the search for the stone representing lust.  It had an interesting twist with the addition of an alternate villain, Anarchy.  She allowed Evanovich to explore the depths of Wulf’s character and create a dynamic level of interaction between the three main characters similarly to the interactions between Stephanie Plum, Morelli and Ranger in that series.

Overall this was a great book and I can’t wait to see which sin Lizzie and Diesel are searching for next and what crazy high jinx await them along the way.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, read them all

Leave a Reply

