Tasty Tuesday – Berry, Lemon, Poppy Chicken Salad

I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen again.  Well, mostly the kitchen with a little bit of the backyard barbeque thrown in for good measure.  This week’s adventure was a semi-success.   I was playing around with some of the recipes I found on Pinterest and decided that today was a good day for a light and fresh dinner.  In my mind that means a salad or something from the grill, so that’s just what I made… a grilled chicken salad.

Specifically a grilled chicken salad with organic mixed greens, strawberries, blackberries, feta cheese, and almonds with a homemade poppy seed dressing.  I found the recipe on pinterest and well mostly followed it.

If you’ve been hanging around for a bit you know that I usually use directions as a starting point and have a tendency to veer off in my own direction.  Tonight’s dinner was no exception.  I used the marinade that they suggested, but eliminated the onion from the dressing (simply because I didn’t feel like grating an onion – holy crying jag, batman).

The marinade for the chicken was very straightforward – I used the juice of one lemon, the zest from that same lemon, some EVOO, salt, pepper, and a scoop of minced garlic.

The dressing was pretty simple too – I used 3/4 cup of mayo, a squirt of dijon mustard, 3 tbsp. of apple cider vinegar (which is more than the recipe said), 2 tsp. of poppy seeds, and 5 tbsp. of sugar.

Once I finished the dressing, I grilled the chicken.  After the chicken was finished I brought it in from the grill and put everything (the dressing, the sliced grilled chicken, strawberries, blackberries, roasted almonds, feta cheese, and organic mixed greens) out on the table so it would be easy to assemble.

image

all the pieces

 

all put together

all put together

Which brings me to the semi-successful portion of this kitchen experiment…  I made a complete salad from top to bottom, but no one else did.  So next time I’m going to use the marinade, but I’ll probably substitute tomatoes and cucumbers instead of the berries.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

