Quest to Read Them All – Silver Linings Playbook

I can’t believe I’ve made it through an entire month of blogging consistently!  I’m really enjoying this project, and it is helping keep me on task with some of my other personal goals – namely reading all of the books I own.

Speaking of which, this week’s installment is about Silver Linings Playbook.

Now, let me preface my entry by saying that I haven’t seen the movie yet.  I wanted to read the book first, and be able to appreciate it for what it was, before I saw the movie and couldn’t reconcile their adaptation to what I was reading.  However, the movie did influence my reading of the book.  I had a vision in my head of the characters before I started reading, and let me just tell you that Jennifer Lawrence’s character is not the same age in the book.  It was weird trying to convince my brain that this 22 year old was playing Tiffany, a character who had been married for 10 years before her husband died tragically.  The math just didn’t work in my brain.  Now I must see this film, just to see what they changed to make the casting possible.  That and, hello, she won the Oscar!

All that aside, it was a pretty good book.  It was an enlightening look at the way someone who suffers from a mental illness integrates back into their family and friends after a life altering episode.  I liked how they touched on his interactions with many different people and that not all of the relationships were successful.

The only thing that I found a bit overwhelming was the overabundance of Eagles football references.  I get that the character was a huge fan, and that it was the key to reconnecting with his male family members.  I can relate to that level of fandom and the familial connection, but for me and my family it is all about the New York Yankees!!!!  Which is why Philadelphia football just didn’t hit it out of the park for me…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, mixed up crazy world, read them all, self improvement

Leave a Reply

