Quest to Read Them All – City of Bones

And The Quest continues… So far I’m 11 books into my To Be Read list.  I only put 2 boxes of books on the list at a time, so as of today there are 88 books on the list.  I’ll add the next set to the list when I’ve finished reading all the books in the first box, and so on down the line.  That way things don’t become too unmanageable.  You may wonder why my books are in boxes…  it’s a long and winding tale, but suffice to stay almost all of my stuff is in storage pending yet another relocation.  Hopefully this upcoming move will be the last one for a while, fingers crossed on that one.

So this week’s book of choice was Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones.  Like last week’s entry I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie.  It was worth the list shuffling to read it now.

When I first started reading this book there was something tugging at my brain.  I kept trying to figure out what was so familiar about the book, and about 4 chapters in it hit me.  There were some striking similarities to Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  It’s not a complete rip off, but it has the same basic underlying premise.  A super human girl is tasked with fighting off demons, vampires, werewolves and the unspeakable horrors of the universe.

City of Bones is the first in an ongoing series that takes us along for the ride as Clarissa Fray comes into her own and discovers another world that her mother has kept hidden from her for her entire life.  The author has created an entire universe that lurks in the shadows of New York City and the rest of the world.  Clary’s world is turned upside down and she has to fight her way back to the stand on her own two feet.  She meets 3 young Shadowhunters (Jace, Alec & Isabelle), who she develops a kinship with and together with her BFF Simon they try to navigate the twists and turns of finding Clary’s missing mother and discovering all the secrets that she has kept hidden from Clary for the last 15 years.

I can’t wait to see what the next book brings… City of Ashes is next in the series, and it’s 12 books down on my To Be Read List!  I can’t wait!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, bucket board, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

