Quest to Read Them All – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

This week’s book is the British version of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

I’ve read the American version of this book and all of the other books in the series before, so the content wasn’t a surprise.  However, no matter how many times I read the books, or watch the movies I’m still transported on a magical journey right along with the Harry and all of his friends.  I love the fact that Rowling created an entirely magical world and those of us who have fallen in love with the people and places can still visit our old friends in many places – the Pottermore website, Harry Potter World at Universal Orlando and in the books of course.

You may be wondering why I’m rereading a foreign version of a book I’ve previously read…  It’s not that complicated, really.  I’m a total book geek.  Now if you add in the fact that I’m on a quest to read every book I own, and well I own the American Series (in hardcover and paperback) and the British version too.  Oh, and I guess technically the British version isn’t foreign, as Rowling is actually English.

Prisoner of Azkaban is the third book in the seven book series, and it is where we start to get a better sense of who Harry Potter will become.  This book is less about Harry’s on going issues with Voldemort, and more about crafting the history that shapes Harry into the person who will take on the epic battle to save the magical world.

I can’t wait to keep going on this magical journey with Harry and his rag tag group of magical beings!  Next up in the series is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.  But I can’t just skip ahead, no matter how much I’d really like to do just that.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, bucket board, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

