I’m Just Not Carried Away by This One…

As you may or may not realize, I’m in the middle of a major (we’re talking life changing) move.  That being said, most of the Pinterest projects that I’ve chosen to work on in the last few weeks have been centered around decorate my new home.  I already have the space mostly mapped out in my brain, even though I don’t actually know what it looks like yet…  This week’s project falls into that same category.  I know I made a tray a little while back, but that one was designed for a guest bedroom.  image (53)

The one I decided to make this week is for my dinning room, despite the fact that I don’t even have a table to put it on yet.  I found the project idea on Pinterest.  It’s a Picture Frame Tray.   The original project called for an inexpensive frame with a piece of fabric under the glass.  I changed things up a bit, of course…

First I got a larger picture frame (16×20) with a dark stained wood look to it.  Then I chose a fabric that coordinates with my dining room decor.  Finally I picked drawer pulls to serve as handles – this was my addition the original didn’t have any handles.  Once I had all my materials gathered I got started on assembling the project.

image (56)

First I measured the fabric and covered the frame’s insert.

image (55)

I like how the toile (that’s the type of fabric) looks in the frame and it definitely works with my color scheme.  So once that was all set I measured for the handles and predrilled the holes to attach the handles.

image (59)  image (57)

Once I had tightened the handles to my satisfaction, I covered the screw heads with felt scuff protectors – you know the things you stick to the feet on furniture so it doesn’t scrape your wood floors.

photo(50)

This is the finished product.  I’m not sure I like how it came out.  I love the idea, but it isn’t one of my favorites.  I’m trying to figure out what I have to do to tweak this and make myself love it…  Any suggestions????

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, mixed up crazy world, projecty type stuff

Leave a Reply

