Tasty Tuesday – Grilled Garlicy Potatoes

It’s Tuesday, so we are off on our next cooking adventure!  Last week we made dessert on the BBQ and this week we are going to make another piece of dinner outside!  No, not the main course.  We are going to be making one of the side dishes on the grill!

Garlicy Grilled Potatoes!

image (27)

Today’s recipe is another Pinterest modification.  I found a recipe for grilled rosemary garlic red potatoes, which sounded amazing.  The only problem, other than my inability to follow a recipe exactly, was that we were out of rosemary.  Not really a big issue, but it does completely change the flavor profile.  Next time I make these, I’m going to make sure I have the rosemary on hand before I start.

First I washed the potatoes.  I used a 3 pound bag of small red potatoes.  Then I cut the pieces in half (or 1/3rds depending on the original size).  Then I precooked the cut up pieces.  Oh, yeah the original recipe also said to microwave the potatoes prior to grilling them, but we don’t use our microwave to cook, so I boiled them.

image (26)   image (25)

 

Once they were mostly cooked – you could stick a fork in them easily, but they weren’t mushy, I drained them and set them aside to cool a bit.  When I could actually touch them I put half of them in a resealable plastic bag with about 2 tbsp. of olive oil and 2 tbsp. of minced garlic.  Then I smushed everything together in the bag and repeated the process with the second half of the potatoes.

image (31)

Then it was time to grill.  I was making sausage alongside the potatoes, and one of my grill’s burners wasn’t working, so time management and space planning became an issue.  But we overcame! and got everything on that needed to feel the heat.

image (30)

I left them be for about 7 minutes, so they’d get nice grill marks and be warm all the way through.  They didn’t stick to the grates, because of the light coating of olive oil from the garlic marinade, which was a definite plus.  The ones that I cut in thirds I flipped over, so there’d be grill marks on both sides, but the others I left alone.

They came out really well, even if I do say so myself.  Good flavor, not too greasy or mushy.  Overall a success.  I will have to try them again, and next time with rosemary.

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

