Quest to Read Them All – Romanov Bride

Ok, so I have to say this week’s book was so not what I hoped it would be… bah.

I was really excited to read the next book on my To Be Read List.  It was a step outside my regular book box, but not a huge step.  I am fascinated by the story of Anastasia and many things Romanov, so I was really looking forward to Robert Alexander’s Romanov Bride.  I hate to say that it just didn’t live up to my expectations at all.

It was well written, but the characters just didn’t grab me.  I didn’t connect with them, and I really love that in books.  I think the character that offered the most connection for me was the Russian Poet turned revolutionary, but he was only around for a handful of chapters.  The main characters (Pavel & Ella) were uninteresting at best.  I’d have loved to learn more about the children or Sergei or the servants or the other revolutionaries or anyone for that matter…

I’m a pretty fast reader, unless I’m not feeling a book and this one took me forever!  It isn’t a long read, it just wasn’t an engaging one for me.

Have any of you read it?  or something like it that I might enjoy more?  any suggestions?

 

2 Comments

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

2 responses to “Quest to Read Them All – Romanov Bride

  1. I’m looking forward to reading the selection series which is sort of like that royalty time period, but it’s a historical fiction. I heard it is amazing there is scandal, romance, adventure, and so much more. I put it on my to-read list.

Leave a Reply

