Tasty Tuesday – Bacon Wrapped Honey Mustard Chicken Strips

We’re back out by the grill for this week’s Tasty Tuesday experiment.  I found a recipe on Pinterest for baked honey mustard chicken wrapped with bacon, that sounded amazing.  The only problem, it’s the middle of summer and my oven is on vacation until September when I have to start making Birthday Cakes.  So, that meant I had to modify a recipe a bit.  I know you are all ridiculously surprised that I would actually do such a thing, but alas I did and let me tell you it was so totally worth it!

The original recipe was intended for young children, but there aren’t any of those in my house, so I went with a spicier option.  I took a regular sized bottle of spicy deli mustard, image (37)

added about 4 oz. of honey image (36)

and 2-3 tsp. of Worcestershire Sauce.  image (35)

Once those were all in the bowl I poured about 2 tbsp. of red wine vinegar into the mostly empty mustard container image (49)

and shook it up to get some more out and added that to the bowl and whisked it all together.

image (48)

Time for a taste test, it needed something, so I added a bit more honey and stirred again.

image (47)

It took less than 5 minutes and man did it taste yummy.

I put my quartered boneless skinless chicken breasts in a giant resealable plastic bag

image (46)

and added half the honey mustard sauce.

image (45)

Then I smushed it all around and stuck it in the fridge for a few hours until it was time to make the rest of dinner.

Once it was nice and marinated, and everyone was home, I took the bag out and set about wrapping the pieces of chicken with bacon! image (44)

I used 1 pound of maple smoked bacon to wrap the chicken strips and I had 2 pieces leftover. (They were grilled, crumbled and thrown into the salad.)

Then it was off to the trusty stove of summertime, and a medium high heat for 6 minutes a side.

image (43)

With little to no poking or prodding.  Just a few minor bacon draping repairs when I flipped them, and a nice basting with the reserved sauce from earlier.

image (42)  image (40)

Once everything was cooked all the way (no raw chicken at my table, please) we sat down to eat.

image (39)

I was a big hit.  Some of the gang even plan to take the leftovers for lunch!  Definitely a success.

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

