Time to Spice Things Up…

This week’s Pinterest project is actually an ongoing kitchen experiment…  A while back, in my Tasty Tuesday – Tacos post I mentioned that we use a homemade taco seasoning instead of the store bought packets.  I promised you all that I would share the recipe that I use to make this seasoning mix and this is the week I’m going to hold up my end of that bargain.  Now, I’ve found dozens of different recipes on Pinterest for all types of kitchen seasonings and while I absolutely love to play around in the kitchen, I really don’t like to use anything prepackaged if I can avoid it.  I’m also in the middle of a huge move, so my time is very limited, but we do have to eat and while in circumstances like these take out is easier it is also stupid expensive and not very healthy.  That being said, I couldn’t just make the Taco Seasoning when we ran out, I had to try 4 other recipes while I was playing mad kitchen scientist.

This week I put together our regular Taco Seasoning, tried out an alternative Taco Seasoning, made Outback style steak seasoning, whipped up a variation of Onion Soup mix (that I’m not so sure about – the recipe called for sugar, so I’m a bit put off and may have to play with it next time around) and finally after hunting down dried buttermilk mixed up some Ranch Seasoning.  I got each of these recipes from Pinterest, and can’t wait to use them and figure out how I can tweak them to become more my own, because we all know how well I do at following directions and measuring exactly.

The recipes are usually very straight forward.  Take some of these different spices and put them in an empty, clean, dry jar (I use small mason jars).  Once everything is in the jar seal it and shake the jar to combine the spices.

First I washed all my mason jars, and gathered my ingredients…

photo (2)

Ranch Dippy Mix

Ranch Dippy Mix

Onion Soup Mix

Onion Soup Mix

Taco Seasoning - Experimental Version

Taco Seasoning – Experimental Version

Outback Steak Seasoning

Outback Steak Seasoning

Taco Seasoning - Our Standard Version

Taco Seasoning – Our Standard Version

Once I had everything all sorted out, I started measuring each of the ingredients into the corresponding jars.  Like I said this is a ridiculously easy project and so much better for you than all the prepackaged chemicals and preservatives.

image (78) image (80)

image (81) image (79)

image (77) image (76)

image (74) image (75)

image (72) image (73)

Then I shook the jars to mix it all up and stored the new made mixes in my pantry.  I had an alterior motive to doing this project this week, I needed to make sure that we had enough Taco Seasoning for next week’s Tasty Tuesday Recipe!

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, organize that, projecty type stuff, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

