I’ve lost my marbles…

Ok, maybe not lost them, but they sure are broken!

I picked this week’s Pinterest project, because it’s going to be a good building block for several other projects and it was a very quick project that didn’t involve any of my other crafting supplies, which I have finally had to pack away in preparation for the last stage of our impending move.  As you may or may not be aware, we are in the process of a huge upheaval.  We are moving from New York to Ohio, from a tiny single room to an entire 3 bedroom house, from one master’s program to a completely different course of study, from being a homemaker/full-time student to working full-time and going to school.  This is going to be such a huge set of changes, and part of me is really excited, but the rest of me is dreading it.  I really want it to be over with, and to have everything settled so that we can get started on our new path.  Eh, enough of my rambling… back to trying to maintain some semblance of my normal in my life while all the changes swirl around me.

So, this week’s project is Baked Marbles.  I love the way the cracked glass looks in the photo on Pinterest, so I decided to try and make some to use in a couple of other projects I have pinned.  I followed the instructions and went with solid colored marbles, but I chose a set of mixed shaped decorative glass marbles.  Some were small and round, others were iridescent and flat on one side, others were cloudy and oddly shaped.

Once I had purchased the marbles, I gathered the other supplies I’d need for the project – a metal bowl and baking pan.

image (62)

I then opened the marbles and spread them in a single layer in the baking pan, while I was preheating the oven to 500 degrees.

image (66)

Man was my kitchen warm for the 20 minutes they were in there heating up.  While they were getting hot, I put the metal bowl in the fridge to cool off and gathered some ice cubes to make the water as cold as I could.  About 30 seconds before the timer went off, I pulled the bowl out, added the ice and filled it with water.  As soon as the timer went off I pulled the baking pan out and dumped the marbles into the bowl of water.  As they were falling in I could here a series of odd cracking sounds.

image (65)

I let the marbles sit in the water for about 2 minutes to cool off, before I drained the water.  Once I had them dried off I checked out the finished product.  What do you think?  Next time, I think I’m going to try a darker colored marble and see if the cracking is more noticeable.  I’m also going to try and find a way to make the water colder.  The drastic change in temperature is what makes the glass crack, so the colder it is the sharper the cracking.

image (63)

Any color suggestions?  Any ideas of what to do with the marbles now that I have them?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, hunting for a new home, mixed up crazy world, projecty type stuff, self improvement

Leave a Reply

