Tasty Tuesday – Taco Pockets

So this week we decided to true something a bit different for dinner…  We only had appetizers.  We each picked one recipe and made enough for everyone to share for dinner.  My choice was Chicken Taco Melts.  They came from a recipe I found on Pinterest, where else?

image (15)

The recipe was pretty straight forward, but I’m in the middle of moving and didn’t really have a chance to find the sheet I printed (and I’m sure I could come up with 4 or 5 other excuses as to why I didn’t follow the recipe) so I improvised.

First I gathered my ingredients…

Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts (about 1 pound)

Sour Cream (for dipping)

Shredded Cheese

Pillsbury Grands Biscuits

Sriracha (for an extra spicy kick)

2-3 tablespoons Taco Seasoning (I use my own homemade Taco Seasoning Mix)

Water & Olive Oil

Once I had everything together, I cubed the chicken and sauteed it in a skillet with a bit of olive oil (just so it wouldn’t stick to the bottom of the pan).  Once it was cooked through, I added my Taco Seasoning and some water (about a half cup).  Once I had it looking like Taco Filling I added a bit of Sriracha Chili Sauce to kick the heat up a few notches.

cutting up chicken

cutting up chicken

cook it all the way through

cook it all the way through

add the seasoning

add the seasoning

now turn up the heat

now turn up the heat

When I had the filling ready I moved on to prepping the pockets (or shells).  I opened a package of Pillsbury Grands Biscuits and separated the rounds onto a cookie sheet.  Then I cut them in half and stretched the dough out so that I could fold it over once the filling was in the middle.  Then I added the filling (meat and cheese) and closed them up.  I just folded the edge of the dough over the filling and pinched the sides closed like with a calzone or pie crust.  Then it was into the oven at 350 degrees for 14-16 minutes.

these work best - it's the butter like substance in the dough

these work best – it’s the butter like substance in the dough

not an exact science

not an exact science

don't over stuff then they ooze out the sides

don’t over stuff then they ooze out the sides

oven ready

oven ready

Boy were they yummy.  We are going to try buffalo chicken ones next time, because we all kinda like the spicy stuff.

they sure didn't last long

they sure didn’t last long

Leave a comment

Filed under hunting for a new home, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

