Tasty Tuesday – Chicken Gyros with Homemade Tzatziki Sauce

This week’s kitchen experiment is a recipe I found on Pinterest a few months ago…  I chose to make it this week, because I am really missing good food and my kitchen!  We recently moved from Long Island, NY to Ohio and the difference in the quality of take out food is staggering.  I would usually not even care, because I would compensate by simply cooking at home.  However, I can’t do that right now, because we haven’t been able to move into our house yet.  Thank you oh so much Summit County Sheriff…

Eh – enough of my whining.

So, we borrowed a kitchen and made some Greek food!  I love Gyros (pronounced Yee-ros).  Lamb, not so much…  So a standard gyro was out, which left the natural substitute at our house – chicken.  I went searching through my Pinterest recipes (because my cookbooks are in storage) and found one for Chicken Gyros.

I really liked the recipe, so I stayed pretty true to the original.  She coked the chicken whole and cut it up after it was cooked.  I chose to cube mine before marinating it, so that the sauce would interact with more of the chicken’s surface.

But, I’m getting ahead of myself…

First I made the marinade.  I gathered my ingredients and the tools I needed.

image (45)

Then I combined in a medium sized bowl the garlic, vinegar, oregano, olive oil, salt, pepper, Greek yogurt, and lemon juice.  Once I had everything all whisked together, I added my cubed chicken and stirred until it was well coated.  After everything was soaking in the Greek flavored goodness, I put it in the fridge to chill.

image (44)

Then it was on the making the Tzatziki Sauce.  (I got the best compliment on this part of the meal! – Gwen said it was as good as the Greek place we used to order from in NY.)  I gathered the ingredients for this, most of which I had used to make the marinade.

image (43)

First I peeled and seeded the cucumber.  Peeling is pretty straight forward, but I used a spoon and scooped out the seeds like you do with a melon.  It was surprising how simple it was.

image (28)

Once it was peeled and seeded, I grated it and removed as much of the excess liquid as possible.  How do you do that?  It’s simple really.  You wrap the grated cucumber in a towel (paper works) and squeeze until the fluid stops coming out.

image (52)

Dried Grated Cucumber

Dried Grated Cucumber

To the grated cucumber I added the lemon juice, white wine vinegar, Greek yogurt (the better quality yogurt you use the better the sauce tastes), salt, pepper, and garlic.

image (50) image (49)

When I had all the ingredients combined, I drizzled the mixture with olive oil and mixed that in.  Then it was off to the icebox to join the marinating chicken.

image (46)

When everything was nice and cold, I cooked the chicken and gathered the toppings for the gyros.

image (53)   image (54)

It only took about 10 minutes for the chicken to cook all the way through.  Then we assembled our gyros according to our own tastes.

image (55)

This is the finished product, and boy were they yummy!!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

