Quest to Read Them All – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

As many of you already know, I am on a personal quest to read every book I own.  I’ve also set out to read all of the original British Editions of the Harry Potter series.  Which brings me to this week’s book…

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling.  I love this series!  I’ve read all 7 books multiple times, but never the original British format.  I’m currently working my way through the British versions, and am up to book number 4 in the series.

Now I’m certain that there are about a million reviews of this book…  So I’m just going to quickly hit on the high points.  This is the 4th book in the series, where the readers are introduced to some of the wizards from places other than England.  The Quidditch World Cup opens the story and The TriWizard Tournament is the main focus of the rest of the book.  This is also the book where the three main characters start to explore the budding romantic relationships that are woven throughout the series.

It just so happened that while I was reading this book there was a marathon of the Harry Potter movies on television, which made me question the way that the book was translated onto the film.  One of the main points that was drastically different between the book and movie of Goblet of Fire was Dobby and Winky’s role in the film.  In the book it is Dobby that gives Harry the means to complete the 2nd task in the tournament and in the film it was Neville.

There are many other differences.  Which one stood out most to you?

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, bucket board, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

