Not Just Hanging Around…

So this week’s Pinterest project was chosen for simplicity and practicality.  I am in the middle of buying a house, and I am trying to be practical in my craft projects, but as I am still living out of a suitcase and storage unit (thanks again Summit County Sheriff’s Department) I also need the projects to be relatively simple.  I picked this Ironing Board Holder, because it fit both of those requirements.

I read through the directions attached to the pin, and was slightly taken aback by how much work they put into creating the frame.  I just don’t have that much access to power tools and my scrap wood pile was decimated prior to the move.  So I had to modify her design slightly.  I chose to use an inexpensive cabinet door as the base for my holder.  All in all, this was an easy project.

These are the supplies I used:

image (60)

Along with a cordless screwdriver and an old t-shirt to apply the stain.

First I stained this awesome cherry cabinet door with a natural finish stain.

image (58)

I wiped off the excess stain and let the door dry.

Then I measured for the placement of the hooks, and attached then in the correct location for the width of my ironing board.

image (64)

Then I put on the hanging bracket and smoothed out the ends of the screws where they came through the back of the door.

image (63)

Once that was done, I tested the hanger out on another ironing board (mine’s in storage and much cuter than this one).

image (62)   image (61)

I think this is going to work well in my new laundry room.  I can’t wait to post pictures of the finished rooms, assuming of course that we ever get to actually move into the house…

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, projecty type stuff

Leave a Reply

