Quest to Read Them All – Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

So in my ongoing Quest to Read Them All I have encountered another book that took me out of my comfort zone…

I think I have a pretty broad comfort zone, but this book was a real step outside of the box for me.  Mark Haddon wrote the book in the first person, and from the perspective of a mentally challenged protagonist.  The author kept the book so deeply ensconced in the narrator’s perspective that the chapters were not list by name or a standard numeric sequence (1,2,3,…), but as prime numbers simply because the main character was fond of them and the book was a journal of sorts.  The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time went further into the journaling style, by including doodles, charts and other scribbles created by the 15 year old Christopher John Francis Boone.  I found the story interesting, if slightly difficult to follow, because of the stylistic choices Haddon made.

Overall, this was an interesting step outside the box.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

