Tasty Tuesday – Asparagus Stuffed Chicken

Sorry I missed last week’s Tasty Tuesday entry…  This not having a kitchen thing is really starting to get to me.  Yes the Queen of Takeout (I even have the coffee mug to prove it, but it’s currently in a box in storage) is tired of eating out.  I really miss healthy food.  I am seriously craving veggies!  So this week while we were house sitting I took full advantage and used the kitchen to make a home cooked, healthy meal!

I found a recipe on Pinterest for Asparagus Stuffed Chicken.  I loved the concept, but I’m not so good at the whole following directions thing.  So I went with the general concept, but adjusted it to fit my tastes and style.

image (66)

Ingredients:

1 large chicken breast (cut into cutlets)

asparagus

olive oil

garlic

salt & pepper

low fat cooking spray

whole wheat bread crumbs

shredded mozzarella cheese

First I took 1 large chicken breast and cut it into 3 cutlets and trimmed off the icky stuff.  Then I sauteed the asparagus with about a tablespoon of each garlic and olive oil.  I left it slightly undercooked, so that it wouldn’t get too floppy in the oven when I baked the chicken all the way through.

image (72)      image (70)

Once the asparagus was done, I laid the chicken cutlets in a baking dish I had sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

image (71)

I then added some shredded mozzarella, 3-4 stalks of asparagus, and salt & pepper to taste.

image (69)

I rolled the chicken up and made sure the seem was facing the bottom of the pan, so that the contents wouldn’t leak all over the dish.

image (68)

After all the rolls were set, I dusted the tops with whole wheat bread crumbs.

image (67)

Then it was into the preheated oven for 20 minutes of baking at 375 degrees.

image (66)

It was a relatively quick and easy dinner.  I put the rest of the asparagus out as a side dish, and it was a nice and easy weeknight meal.

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

