Quest to Read Them All – Pollyanna

Ok, so you all know that I am on a quest to read every book I own, but as I mentioned last month, I’m also trying to reread one book from my childhood a month.  Last month, I read Bridge to Terabithia.  This month’s selection was Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter.

I don’t know why I keep picking children’s books that center around death and loss.  OK, that’s a stretch, because I’m pretty sure I do know why I picked them.  In my quest to read them all, I’m reading the books in a predetermined order, the way they were placed on the bookshelf prior to packing everything away in storage, with consideration of series order.  The children’s books, on the other hand, I am choosing on an individual basis.  So I have chosen these two books with purpose.  I didn’t admit to or recognize that purpose when I selected them, but I am a firm believer in fate and subconscious (or unconscious) leanings.  My dad passed away in mid June and these stories must have connected with me on a deeper level than I even remembered.

Pollyanna is about an orphaned 11 year old girl who comes to live with her spinster Aunt.  The story centers around this young girl’s transformation of the people around her.  She helps them find the silver lining in any situation.  At this point in time, I definitely needed a refresher on this lesson.  I loved the story and am now going to have to track down a copy of the movie…

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, family drama, mixed up crazy world, read them all

Leave a Reply

