These Dogs Sure Are Barking…

I’m slowly, but surely working my way through my constantly increasing Pinterest Project list…  This week I turned an idea I saw on Pinterest as an item for sale on etsy into a DIY project.  I found a pin for a leash and treat holder, and since we just got a brand new puppy…

paddy

Paddy (10 weeks)

I now need (ok, want…) 2 of these 1 for each of our dogs.  The ones on Etsy are a bit out of our price range right now (hello, buying a house is freaking expensive).  So I made 2 of these cool leash holders for our new mudroom.

paddy's leash holder

They were pretty simple…

First I gathered all of my supplies – I purchased a 2 pack of bathrobe hooks, a 2 pack of large automotive hose clamps, 2 mason jars, and 2 wooden plaques from Michaels.  I also found a sponge brush, some acrylic paint, some screws, sand paper, an electric screwdriver, and chalk.

image (68)

The first thing I did was hit the computer and find an image of a paw print that I liked and laid out the lettering that I wanted.  I then printed the page out to use when I was ready.

Once I had everything all set, I sanded the plaques and then painted them the 2 colors we’d chosen.  We went with a blue for Paddy and purple for Murphy.

painting  image (79)

Once the plaques were dry, I took my printed lettering and paw prints and rubbed the chalk on the back of the page.  Then I traced the letters and graphic onto the plaque.  (This way is much less expensive then using carbon paper.)

image (78)  image (76)

When I had everything positioned the way I wanted (it took me 2 tries to get everything laid out the way I wanted, which is another reason I liked the chalk better), I painted the letters and print with black paint.

image (75)

When the lettering was dry on both plaques I attached the hook and the hose clamp.

attching hook  attaching hose clamp

Once I had the hose clamp secured to the plaque I put the mason jar in and tightened the clamp so that the  jar was secure.

Murphy's Leash Holder

The next step requires that we close on our new house and can hang these up in the mudroom, right next to the back door, fill them with the puppies’ favorite treats and hang up their leashes.  I can’t wait!!!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, hunting for a new home, pug city

Leave a Reply

