Halloween Crafts – Jack ‘o’ Jars

This week’s Halloween craft was very cool!  I found it on Pinterest (as usual), and it was a really straightforward set of directions for Mason Jar Jack ‘o’ Lantern.

I don’t follow directions very well, but there were only three on this project – so it was a little easier.  The first step was to gather up the supplies (empty jars, black glass paint, colored glass paint, wire cutters, paintbrushes, coated black 20 gauge wire).

photo 2 (3)

Once I had everything gathered together, I washed the jars…

photo 1 (3)

Once the jars were completely dry, I tried to paint the faces on the inside of the jars, but I didn’t like how they came out.

image (11)

So I scrapped that and painted the inside of the jars in several Halloween colors.

image (4)   image (3)

When they were dry, I painted Jack ‘o’ Lantern faces on the outside of each of the jars.  Once everything was dry, I measured the wire to make the handles.  I took one piece of wire and wrapped it around the top lip of the jar and twisted the ends together.  Then I took a second piece and attached one end to the left side of the wire on the jar and the other to the right side.

image (6)

I didn’t put handles on all the jars.  They are came out pretty cool.  I think I’m going to put tea light candles in them and put them in the dining room window.

image (5)

I like the green one best… Which one is your favorite?

2 Comments

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, projecty type stuff

2 responses to “Halloween Crafts – Jack ‘o’ Jars

  1. Pam

    Definitely the green one

Leave a Reply

