Quest to Read Them All – Ahab’s Wife

This week’s entry on my Quest to Read Them All is a borrowed book.  Which I guess, makes it not one of my books, but I read it based on a friend’s suggestion.  I wouldn’t have read it except that Pam recommended it.  I really didn’t like Moby Dick and I’m not a fan of the rambling style of some first person narratives, but she loved Ahab’s Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund, so I gave it my best shot.

I made it through the book, and there were a couple of interesting aspects, but it just didn’t draw me in like some books can.  I wasn’t a fan of the way that the narrator’s voice was presented, which to me completely defeated the purpose of the book.  It was an interesting concept, and there are a couple of other books written in this style that I might look into in the future (like The Paris Wife, which centers around Hemingway’s wife), but this one was not as engaging as I had hoped.  I also enjoyed the reference to the writer Henry James as a child on Long Island (which is where I originally came from).  I love finding interesting things within works that I otherwise wouldn’t have enjoyed.

Now on to the next book on the list…

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

