Tasty Tuesday – Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

It’s back!  I still don’t have a functional kitchen, but I do need to feed my family.  Which led to a bit of recipe research, I was looking for something I could make with no stove.  All my cookbooks are still in boxes, but I found a couple of interesting slow cooker recipes on Pinterest.   Which lead me to dig out my crock pot and head to the grocery store.  The recipe I found for this week was for Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken.

I gathered the recipe’s supplies – a whole chicken, some fresh rosemary, 4 lemons, and 3 heads of garlic.  Then I gathered the items I was going to use to supplement the meal – small read potatoes and white wine.

supplies

Once I had everything together, I followed the instructions from the recipe.  I cut up the lemons and put some in the bottom of the crock pot.

image (151)

Then I halved two of the heads of garlic, and put them into the crock pot.

image (150)

Then I added several sprigs of fresh rosemary.

image (149)

Once that was all in the crock pot, I washed the chicken and seasoned it with salt and cracked black pepper.  I also put half a lemon and half a head of garlic into the cavity of the chicken.  Once it was stuffed I put it into the crock pot.

image (147)

Then I modified the recipe slightly by cutting up a bunch of small red potatoes and adding those to the pot.

image (146)

Along with some more rosemary and the rest of the lemons.

image (144)

Then I added a 1/2 cup of white wine, set the crock pot to low and left it alone for 6 hours.  So, while I wasn’t looking someone turned the heat up and the lemon and garlic on the bottom burned and gave the chicken and potatoes a bad flavor.  I am going to have to try the recipe again, and make sure it was just the unforeseen temperature change that made the meal taste off, because it came out looking great.

image (143)

Leave a comment

Filed under family drama, hunting for a new home, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

