Quest to Read Them All – Island of the Blue Dolphins

As I continue on my Quest to Read Them All, I am also making progress on my secondary project of re-reading one book a month from my childhood.  This week I chose to go with a book that I didn’t remember fondly from childhood, but that I remembered being the first book that I ever had to force myself to finish, Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell.

I read this for the first time for a book report in the 4th grade.  I remember it being excruciating to finish in time to turn in my assignment.  I had never had a problem doing a reading assignment before, but this book just never hooked me.  I was excited to read about a strong, young heroine, but I never connected with Karana.  I can now say, after rereading the book that I still didn’t love it.  I’m not sure exactly why…  The book just didn’t resonate with me.  Any ideas why?

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all, self improvement

Leave a Reply

