My Melting Rainbow

When I chose this week’s Pinterest project I thought it would be really simple, but boy was I wrong!  I found the directions for a melted crayon candle during the heat of the summer and had to modify the directions slightly to accommodate the change in the weather.

First I gathered together my supplies – a candle wick, an empty glass jar, and 5 inexpensive boxes of crayons.

photo 1

Then I sorted the crayons by color, and removed the wrappers from each crayon.  (This part was really annoying.  The wrappers kept sticking and were 2-3 layers thick.)

photo 2  photo 4

Once everything was finally unwrapped, I attached the candle wick to the bottom of the glass jar with a bit of glue.

photo 2 (6)    photo 3 (6)

When it had set for a few minutes I started layering in the crayons.  I went with the ROY G BIV order, so I had to put the purple pieces in first…

photo 4 (4)  photo 2 (5)  photo 4 (3)

Now this is where I changed the directions, because of the change in weather.  I put mine on a cookie sheet in my oven and set the heat to 200 degrees and the timer for 15 minutes.

photo 5 (2)

This is the result:

photo 3 (3)

Not perfect, but I might try again with different crayons, of alternate wax, and a different color scheme.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, projecty type stuff

Leave a Reply

