Tasty Tuesday – Fool’s Gold Steak Salad

I’m sorry for the delay in posting this week’s Tasty Tuesday entry, but life got in the way…  Last Friday’s Quest to Read Them All entry was about an awesome cookbook written by one of my favorite authors, Susan Mallery, which is what inspired this week’s recipe choice.  (Well that and being really sick of take out and slow cooker meals, because we still have an unusable kitchen!)  I read each of the recipes in this cookbook, along with the intermingled romance.  I haven’t done that with a cookbook in quite some time.

The book is divided into seasonal sections; however, we all know how good I am at following direction, so I chose to make one of the summer recipes in November.  The recipe I picked was from page 82, and is called Flank Steak and Balsamic Spinach Salad.  I chose it not only because it sounded really yummy, but because it seemed (and was) really straightforward and easy to put together.  This was only an influence in my choice, because of the current state of my kitchen. (you really don’t want to get me started on that issue right now…)

First I made sure that my stove was usable (uncovered, plugged in, cleanish …).

Then I gathered all my ingredients.  (Olive oil, 1 1/4 pound flank steak, balsamic vinegar, Dijon mustard, minced garlic, baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, and chopped walnuts)  Most of the items are pantry staples in my house, which meant I had to dig through some packing boxes, but it wasn’t too expensive to put this meal together.  I did have to buy the steak and fresh veggies.  I was a bit worried about finding the spinach, but grocery stores seem not to be hindered so much by the seasonal nature of vegetables these days.

photo(4)

The next step was pretty easy (if you discount how long it took to find my grill pan).  I heated up the grill pan, added some olive oil and cooked the steak (about 6 minutes on each side).  I also added some strips of bacon, because bacon makes everything better!

photo 1

Then while that was cooking, I worked on the dressing for the salad.  My whisk and measuring cups are burried in boxes in the garage, so I measured by eye and whisked with a fork, but such is my life at the moment…  I started with the balsamic, then added the mustard, garlic, a bit of salt & pepper.  Once I had those combined in the bowl I slowly added the olive oil and stirred it to combine.

photo 2  photo 3  photo 4  photo 1 (2)

The steak was just about done when I finished putting the dressing together, so I dumped the spinach into the dressing, added the walnuts & the bacon.  And tossed the salad!

photo 3 (2)  photo 4 (3)

Once that was all tossed together, I sliced the steak and plated everything to serve!  All in all the recipe was a quick, easy and yummy meal!!!

photo 5 (2)

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, read them all, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

