Tasty Tuesday – Slow Cooker Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin

So, after the debacle of trying to use my stove last week I decided to head back to the land of the crock pot for this week’s installment of Tasty Tuesday!  I found an interesting recipe for Brown Sugar and Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin on Pinterest.  The picture looked amazing!

The first thing I did was gather all of my ingredients…

photo 1 (6)

Then I washed the pork (we used a tenderloin, but you can use a regular pork loin) and put it in the slow cooker.

photo 2 (6)

Then I added the sage.  The recipe said to use ground sage, but I prefer fresh herbs.  (See I’m really bad at following directions…)

photo 3 (5)

Then I added some salt, pepper and garlic.  (Again with the not following directions – I used minced garlic instead of a clove of crushed garlic.)

photo 1 (3)

When all of that was in the crock pot I added a 1/2 cup of water and some cut up red potatoes. (These weren’t part of the recipe, but you know we had to make it work, given our current kitchen situation.)

photo 2 (3)

Then I put the lid on, turned the heat to low and left it alone for 6 hours.  This is the point where I actually read the rest of the recipe all the way through and realized that I did, in fact, have to use my stove.  So I spent a portion of the next 6 hours digging throught the boxes of kitchen stuff still sitting in my garage to find a pot, a wooden spoon, and the rest of the kitchen tools we’d need to finish making dinner.

The glaze was pretty easy to put together, but it took a while (and a great deal of stirring) to thicken.  I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, 1/2 cup of water, and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce to a small saucepan.

photo 5 (4)

It got nice and thick and smell really yummy when it was ready to baste the meat with.  I spread it over the pork (and potatoes) 3 times in the last hour of cooking.  Which made the total cooking time 8 hours on low heat.

photo 4 (6)

The finished product was delicious!  The glaze was a bit tangy, so next time I might add some extra brown sugar.

photo(1)

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

