Jingle Bells on Swinging Doors

Welcome to the holiday crafting season… in my house, at least.  Now, most dedicated crafters started their Christmas crafts way back in the early fall, but as you all know my life has been in renovation and moving upheaval, so I’m just getting started with the crafty Christmas prep.  We traditionally decorate for the holidays on the weekend after Thanksgiving, and in the process I made note of the things that were missing when we put everything out.  There were a couple of things absent – a wreath, a card display (for all of the Christmas cards we exchange), and ornaments commemorating this year’s big changes (Daddy’s death, the 2 new puppies, and our new house).  So I’m going to spend the next few weeks creating these items, and where pray tell will I find these craft directions?  Why Pinterest, of course…

I loved this ornament wreath I found, but when I tried to make it, let’s just say it was an epic failure.  When that bombed, I headed back to Pinterest and went looking for another wreath to make.  I liked the way the ribbon wreaths looked, so it was off to the local craft store for me.  I couldn’t find the kind of ribbon they used in the blog, so I decided to modify the plan again, and make a version of the ribbon wreath I made for Halloween.  I purchased the supplies that I needed:

2 spools each of blue, purple, pink, turquoise, green and black 1″ ribbon

1 spool 1 1/2″ translucent silver ribbon

1 spool each of 4 types of decorative 2″ ribbon

and gathered the supplies I had at home:

scissors

1 3 foot piece of pipe insulation

a Disney Jingle Bell ornament.

photo 1 (25)

Once I had everything I measured the length for the 1″ ribbon and cut the pieces.  Tying them around the wreath form (which I had previously made into a circle and secured with duck tape) so that they covered the entire form.

photo 2 (25)

Once I had the entire thing covered, I cut the 2″ ribbon to length

photo 1 (24)

and then tied these pieces on top of the solid color ribbons, so that they were touching each other, but weren’t overlapping.

photo 3 (22)

When all of the ribbons were attached, I needed to make a hanger for the wreath and figure out how to attach the jingle bell.  I used the 1 1/2″ ribbon to make the bow to hang the wreath.  I attached the loop on the ornament to the center of the ribbon and then tied a nice loopy bow to hang it on the front door.

photo 4 (18)

Then I took the wreath and hung it on our front door!  Check it out…

photo 5 (14)

What do you think??

Leave a comment

Filed under bucket board, check-it-off-the-list, erranding, family drama, hunting for a new home, projecty type stuff

Leave a Reply

