Bringing our Tree to Life

This week’s craft projects came from Pinterest, as usual…  I know, I know, it doesn’t seem like I have an original idea ever, but with so much inspiration available what am I supposed to do?  I’m working on a holiday crafting theme, and when we put up our tree I noticed that there were a couple of things missing from it – something to honor the loss of my dad, something to commemorate our new home, and something to honor the newest members of our family.  This week I set about finding a way to remedy that situation…  I found these pins:

They both seemed like things I could do myself & that we had the supplies to make, so I decided I would try.  First I made the “Someone in Heaven” Ornament.

I found a clear glass ball, a paint marker and some ribbon.

someone in heaven supplies

Then I pulled up the exact wording:  “Because someone we love is in Heaven, there’s a little bit of Heaven in our home.”   Next I started writing with the paint pen on the glass ball.  (I made sure the surface of the glass was clean and dry before I did this, so the paint would go on nicely.)

writing on glass

I liked how the words came out, but don’t love it…  I’ll probably redo this one at some point when I have more time, because I want it to be perfect, but it works for now.

photo 3

When it was dry (about 5 minutes later). I tied a ribbon to the top metal loop.

photo 4

And hung it on the tree…

photo 5

Then I went back to the crafting table (in this case the coffee table in the living room), to start on my next homemade ornament – the one to honor our first house together.  Now, this isn’t our 1st home, apartment, property purchase or anything like that, but it is the 1st house we bought together and one of the things my dad wanted most for us.  So, even though I swore up and down for what seems like forever that I wasn’t ever going to own a house, I buckled and made the leap to honor his wishes.  (I can honestly say, that it was worth it most of the time.)

For this project I also gathered my supplies: some silver Sculpey III clay, my house key, a nail, Sculpey glaze, a paint brush, a parchment lined cookie sheet, and some ribbon.

1st house supplies

I started by preheating the oven to 275 degrees, then I opened the clay, broke off two strips and started kneading it to make it pliable.

kneading the clay

Once it was malleable, I made it into a pancake shaped disc about 1/4 inch thick and 3 inches in diameter.

sculpey pancake

Then I took the key and pressed it into the left side of the circle to make an impression.

key in clay

Once I was sure you could tell it was a key, I pulled it off the mold and was left with this:

key impression

I took a small nail and made a hole at the top of the disc to attach a ribbon to for hanging.  I also used the nail to write the words “Our 1st House” next to the impression of the key and the year underneath the words.

oven ready ornament

Then it was off to the oven for 15 minutes of baking.  I also let it cool over night, so that the glaze would set without any issues.  The next morning, I glazed both sides of the ornament (letting each side dry for 30 minutes).

drying glazed ornament

When it was dry I threaded a piece of ribbon through the hole in the top of the ornament and knotted it against the clay, leaving enough slack to create a loop and bow further down to use to hang it from.

1st house with ribbon

Then it was off to the tree with this one…

1st house ornament on the tree

What other ornaments should we make, get or put on our tree?  Do you have any that are really special to you?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, Christmas Gifts, family drama, hunting for a new home, projecty type stuff

Leave a Reply

