Quest to Read Them All – Hotshot

I’m on an ongoing Quest to Read Them All, well every book I own and that’s not a small number of books.  This week I read a book from one of my favorite authors, Julie Garwood.

hotshot

I have read everything of her’s that I can get my hands on.  I started reading her books in college.  My friends, Cat & Molly, and I were avid readers and somehow managed to squeeze romance novels into the mix with our Mount Holyoke College course work.  It was a relatively new romance fan  – I had read one when I was in high school, but my mom flipped out and called it trash and that was the end of my experience with romance novels until college.  After that, I was hooked!  I love a good romantic suspense novel, and that’s what Julie Garwood delivers!

Hotshot is a sweet romance (or 3) woven into a harrowing sexual harassment nightmare.  I felt that this book wasn’t quite as good as some of Ms. Garwood’s other books, but it was still an engaging story.  I like the connection between Finn and Peyton, but would have liked more development of their characters.  Peyton, an aspiring chef turned resort owner, and Finn, an Olympic champion turned FBI agent/lawyer, were fated to be together from the very beginning of the book.  I felt that there was too much going on and it took away from the mainline of the story.  I did really enjoy the book and cannot wait to see what Julie Garwood has in store for us next!

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

