Tasty Tuesday – Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s Tasty Tuesday time again!  This week I made Chocolate Chip cookies for my work Christmas party.  I found a recipe on Pinterest, now mind you I usually just use the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag, but I was willing to try something different, so I went with it…

First I gathered all of my ingredients: 2 3/4 cups of flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. salt, 2 sticks room temperature unsalted butter, 1/2 white sugar, 1 1.4 cups packed brown sugar, 2 tsp. vanilla (I used homemade – I’ll have to write a post on making these…),  2 eggs, 1 egg yolk, 2 cups of chocolate chips.

chocolate chip cookie ingredients

The directions I found said to preheat the oven first, but that doesn’t make any sense, because you have to refrigerate the dough for at least 24 hours before baking the cookies.  So, first combine the “dry” ingredients in a bowl.  That means add the flour

add flour for cookies

salt, baking soda, and baking powder

add baking powder to cookies

in a bowl and set it aside.  Then in another bowl beat the butter and both types of sugar until it’s creamy.

photo 2

Then add the eggs (one at a time) and beat them into the butter & sugar mixture.

photo 4 (2)

Next add the vanilla to the egg, butter, sugar mixture.

photo 5 (2)

Once all of the “wet” ingredients are mixed together, you mix the “dry” ingredients in a bit at a time.

photo 2 (3)

When the flour bowl is all mixed in you can stir in the chocolate chips.  Don’t use the mixer to do this.  It works better if you stir by hand to add them in.

add the chips to the mix

Then cover the dough and stick it in the fridge for at least 24 hours, but not more than 72.

put the dough in the fridge

When you are ready to bake the cookies, take the dough out and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Then line a baking sheet with a silicon pad or parchment.  When the oven is hot and the dough is scoopable, make balls of dough (about 3 tbsp. of dough in each) and place them on the covered baking sheet.

photo 2 (4)

I got 4 rows of 3 cookies on my baking sheets.

photo 3 (4)

Then I put them in the oven for 12 minutes.  (The directions called for 12-14 minutes).  When the timer buzzed, I checked them and increased the time by another 2 minutes.

photo 5 (4)

I let them sit on the baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

cooling cookies

They were very yummy!  The best part, it made the plumbers that were here replacing my defunct water heat much happier.  A happy plumber is a better plumber, in my opinion and experience.  Have you ever butter anyone up with homemade goodies?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

