Tasty Tuesday – Santa Hat Brownies

We have a Christmas party at work this week and I wanted to bring something fun and yummy, but it really needed to be simple.  You know how crazy it can get during the holidays, especially in the middle of remodeling a house and playing chauffeur to the masses.  So I head off to look for an idea.  First I checked my Disney Holiday cookbook, but while all of those ideas are fantastic I couldn’t see making a “Yule Log” ala the Yachtsman Steakhouse for a party in a local bar.  It needed to be more finger foodesque.  So I headed off to search, you guessed it, Pinterest.  That’s were I found the recipe for these:

Once I had the idea, and a vague idea of the recipe, I gathered all my supplies:  a boxed brownie mix (no I didn’t make them from scratch – hello? I needed something quick and easy) with the oil, water & eggs that it called for, a package of strawberries (man out of season fruit can be expensive), and a can of Redi-Whip.

santa hat brownie ingredients

Once I had all the stuff (most of which I had on hand, thankfully) I made the brownies.  Just a side note, this mix was on sale when I went grocery shopping, and now I know why – so not using this kind again.

add the water  crack the eggs  time to mix

Don’t forget to spray the bottom of the pan and pre-heat the oven…

spray the pan

When they are done according to the box, take them out and cool them completely.  No sneaking any, or rushing the cooling process.  They tend to crumble if you do that…  It sucks, I know.  After they are cool, you can cut out the circles.  You can use a cookie cutter, biscuit round, or trace anything circular with a knife.  That’s how we had to do it, because somehow in the move I cannot find my biscuit cutter, grumble.  We used a 1/3 cup measuring cup and a sharp knife to trace the circles in the pan of brownies.

missing my biscuit cutter

Once we had the bases cut out, I trimmed the strawberries and put them on top of the brownie circles.

trimming strawberries in december?  putting on the hats

Then it was time for some fun with spray on whipped cream!  I tend to have a heavy hand, so my hats had big fluffy rims and tops.

brownie santa hats!

They were a big hit at the party, and the perfect 2 bite snack!  What do you make for a holiday party dessert?

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas Gifts, hunting for a new home, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

