Quest to Read Them All – City of Glass

I’m on an ongoing personal quest to read every book I own, and I am making steady progress.  I am considering increasing the number of books I read at a time so that I can get through more books, but I’m not sure if that will work in my current schedule.  It’s something I must ponder further…

This week’s book is Cassandra Clare‘s 3rd installment in the Mortal Instruments Series, City of Glass.

I really am enjoying this series.  It’s not as consuming as Harry Potter was, but I love the supporting characters!  Magnus and Alec are 2 of my favorites and I just found this great link to an ebook series about Magnus Bane!  As soon as I finish this post, I’m going to download all 10 of them!  But I digress…  Alec and Magnus get some quality attention in this installment of the Mortal Instruments Series.  I feel like such a fan girl, culling through each book looking for specific mention and anticipating what will happen next in their relationship!

It was a good book, exciting and informative.  Clare answered some lingering continuity questions.  I am left wondering what’s going to happen in the next book.  Is it going to be about the happily ever after, because I don’t think that will support the next three books in the series.  I may have to rearrange my reading schedule to move the next one up in line!

I also heard a rumor that was slightly troubling while I was reading this book.  Someone on another blog was bashing the author, Cassandra Clare, because she supposedly created the series as a fanfic writing project based on characters in JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  I have no idea if this is true or not, but I have to ask why it matters?  What difference does it make where the idea started from, because it has obviously taken off in a completely different direction.  There is no hint of Draco Malfoy in Jace, nor Ginny Weasley in Clary.  Who are we, as readers, to judge the creative impetus of the authors we love?  How do we know where Shakespeare got his inspiration from, or Poe, or Austen for that matter?

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

