Begin as You Wish to Continue…

It is the start of a brand new year, and believe me I’m excited to see what 2014 brings!  2013 just wasn’t a great year for us.  While we’ve made strides to reconnect, reestablish, and grow from all of the challenges we faced over the course of the year, I can honestly say that I really hope that 2014 shows a return to the stability and prosperity of the recent past.  My dad used to tell me that if you want to be successful, you need to “begin as you wish to continue” or start out in the same way you plan to finish.  I plan to finish off 2014 with an abundance of happy memories, having traveled with my loved ones, and put aside some money to enjoy a taste of retail therapy (not just a safety net should trying financial times rear their ugly head).

That being said, this week’s craft project is a tool I plan to use to achieve those goals.  I already made a Vacation Fund container and an Annual Memory Jar, so I needed a vessel to use to house my slush fund.  A place to put the gift cards, loose change, and cash that I plan to spend on completely frivolous things.  I found an idea on Pinterest for a Savings Shadow Box:

I liked the concept, but I’ve made shadow box storage cases before, and they are hard to get the stuff into.

admit one shadow box

So, I decided to create my own version of this idea…  I found a big empty jar (hey, I want to save for some pretty expensive stuff, so I needed a large container), some spray paint, a paint pen, and my computer.  First I removed the label from the jar and cleaned the inside and outside completely.

removing the label

Once it was clean, I set it aside to dry and painted the top.  It was originally a dark red, and that doesn’t match anything in my house, so I painted it white.

painting the top

Then while that was drying, I hit the computer and printed a picture of the 1st item I plan to save for (a new Mac desktop computer) along with the words I planned to put on the outside of the jar.  I’ve always like the phrase “in for a penny, in for a pound,” so I chose to use it, as well as the words “can we save enough for:” to decorate the exterior of the jar, and present the general premise of the project.

After the jar was dry, I attached the print out of the words to the inside of the jar and traced the lettering with a paint marker.

attaching the stencil  getting ready to do the lettering  lettering the jar

Once the paint was dry I removed the stencil and wiped out the inside of the jar.  At which point I attached the picture of my savings goal.

removing the stencil

Next I put the gift cards I have accumulated towards my next purchase and some loose change in the jar to get the savings started…

finsihed savings jar

Once the jar was complete, I had a complete set of tools to work with in hopes of attaining some of this year’s goals!

memory jar, savings jar, vacation fund jar

What are some of your goals for this year?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under bucket board, check-it-off-the-list, projecty type stuff, self improvement

Leave a Reply

