Quest to Read Them All – Call of the Wild

I’ve started the 2014 segment of my Quest to Read Them All with a classic, Jack London’s Call of the Wild.

I loved this book when I was a kid.  (Yes, it’s also part of my year long project to reread a book a month from my childhood.)  I found it fascinating that the book was told from Buck’s perspective, and Buck was a dog.  As a child, I thought that it was amazing that London gave voice to the thoughts and feelings of an animal.  As an adult, I loved how The Call of the Wild addressed the ease with which one can forget their civility.  Buck is forced away from his cushy, civilized home and brought into the wilds of Alaska.  He adapts to the strange environment and falls easily into the frigid Arctic society.  The same thing can (and does) happen to people, and London addressed the situation beautifully.  He gave his readers a real taste of the trials Buck faced.  I thoroughly enjoyed this trip down memory lane, and the deeper look into a great children’s book!

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

