Sunday Sweets – Cookie Bark

I tried out a recipe for Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark in December and it was a huge hit in our house.  I liked it because it was pretty easy to put together, and everyone else was a huge fan of the yummy sweet goodness.  Based on that success, I went looking for other “Bark” recipes and came across this one for Chocolate Chip Cookie Bark on Pinterest.

Looks pretty good, huh?  We thought so, too.  The recipe also sounds relatively simple, so we decided to give it a go…  First I gather all of my ingredients:  Chips Ahoy cookies (the author was very specific about what brand ingredients),  10 oz. Ghirardelli white chocolate, 6 oz. Ghirardelli dark chocolate, and mini chocolate chips.

cookie bark ingredients

The recipe says to line the baking sheet with tin foil and spray it with cooking spray, but I’m not a fan of adding unneeded chemicals to my food, so we lined the jelly roll pan with parchment and no spray.

lined jelly roll pan

Next it was off to create a double boiler, because I was so not going to melt expensive chocolate with a microwave!  I grabbed a medium sized sauce pan and filled it halfway with water, then put it on the stove to heat up.  Then I opened the dark chocolate and broke the squares into smaller pieces (easier to melt) in a glass bowl that fit nicely on top of the pot of water.

breaking chocolate

The steam from the cooking water melts the chocolate in the bowl.  After it was nicely dissolved, I spread it out on the lined jelly roll pan and stuck it in the freezer while I continued on with the next few steps in the recipe.

spread the melted dark chocolate on the lined pan

While the dark chocolate was setting up in the freezer, I chopped up 2 cups of chocolate chip cookies and melted the 10 oz. of white chocolate.

chopping cookies  melting white chocolate

Once the white chocolate was melted, I took the pan out of the freezer.  Then I spread a slightly thicker layer of the white chocolate over the frozen dark chocolate.  Then I added the chopped cookies on top.  I think I should have made the chocolate rectangle larger, because the cookies were so overcrowded that I couldn’t add the mini chocolate chips.  (Oh well, they won’t go to waste…)

frozen dark chocolate  cover with white chocolate  spread out white chocolate  add chopped cookies

Then it was back to the freezer to set again.  Boy was my family annoyed that I left it in the freezer for a whole 30 minutes, because they really wanted to try some sooner.

freezing the bark  break of a piece of cooled bark

But it was worth the wait, wasn’t it?

time to eat the bark

2 Comments

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, sunday sweets

2 responses to “Sunday Sweets – Cookie Bark

Leave a Reply

