Sunday Sweets – Snowman Cupcakes

I needed to come up with a fun dessert for a small gathering this weekend, and I was feeling inspired (OK overwhelmed by) all this winter weather we are having.  So, I went looking for a creative recipe that would suit my mood.  I found an idea on Pinterest for Snowman Cupcakes:

Cute, huh?  I thought it was a good idea, but the pin only lead to a photograph, not directions…  Grumble, don’t you hate it when that happens?  So I decided to figure it out on my own.  First I gathered the ingredients:  1 box of white cupcake mix (plus the stuff the package calls for), 1 tub of white frosting, white sanding sugar, and mini chocolate chips.

snowman ingredients

OK, I know using a box cupcake mix is cheating, but I needed a quick fix and went with the easy way out…  Which was the next step in the process – Make the cupcakes.  You can use a box mix like I did, or you can get all creative and make them from scratch!

pour in the mix  add the water  now the oil  beat it up!

Once the cup cakes have cooked and cooled, it’s time to frost them…

you really frost my cupcakes

Once they are frosted, it’s time to dust the tops with white sanding sugar.  I filled a low bowl with the sparkly sugar and dunked the top of each of the cupcakes into it to cover all of the icing with sugar crystals.

dunk the frosted cupcake in sugar  coated with sparkly sugar

Once they were covered, it was time to make the faces.  You could use decorative icing if you wanted to, but I went with using mini chocolate chips to make the faces.

making faces

They looked cute and tasted great.  Just the right pick me up for a frosty winter day!  What other kinds of decorative cupcakes should I try?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, mixed up crazy world, sunday sweets

Leave a Reply

