Tasty Tuesday – Steak Tips with Mushrooms & Blue Cheese

As part of our healthier endeavors for 2014, we are trying to eat at home more, and have been trying out a bunch of new recipes from Pinterest.  Gwen loves steak! and I like Blue Cheese & mushrooms.  So, when I stumbled upon a recipe for Steak Tips with Mushrooms & Blue Cheese it seemed like a sure fire winner!  Overall it was a success, but next time we aren’t going to use pre-cut meat (it was tougher than I wanted it to be, that’s what I get for looking for a short cut).

First I gathered my ingredients: 1 1/2 pounds of sirloin tips cut into 2″ pieces, salt & pepper, 3 tbsp.vegetable oil, 4 Portobello mushroom caps, 2 shallots, 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 blue cheese crumbles, fresh chives (for garnish).

steak tip ingredients

Once I had everything together, I rinsed the meat, patted it dry and seasoned it with some salt & pepper.  Then I heated a tablespoon of oil in a medium skillet until it was just starting to smoke.  When the oil was hot enough, I added the seasoned meat and cooked it for about 9 minutes (until it was well browned).

photo 3 (17)

Once it was done, I removed the meat and covered it.  Then I added the other 2 tablespoons of oil, the thinly sliced mushrooms and shallots and cooked covered until they were softened.  It took about 5 minutes for everything to cook down.

thinly sliced Portobello mushrooms  cooking mushrooms & shallots

Next I added the chicken broth, heavy cream, and the drippings from the reserved meat.   Once everything was mixed in, I simmered it until it thickened, which took about 5 minutes.

photo 3 (16)  photo 2 (21)

When it had gotten thicker, (don’t freak out, because the sauce looks kind of grey) I turned off the heat and stirred in 1/4 cup of the blue cheese crumbles.

photo 1 (21)

Then it was time to plate everything.  I grabbed some meat, poured on some of the sauce, and garnished with some of the remaining blue cheese crumbles and the chives.

photo 3 (18)

It was really yummy, even if it wasn’t as pretty as the picture online…  Has that ever happened to you?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

