Tasty Tuesday – Creamy Mustard Chicken

This week we are continuing on our kitchen adventures and exploring new ingredients.  I wanted to try something different for dinner, and not resort to some variation of an old standby (pasta, pork chops, pot roast, chicken cutlets – all the things we grew up eating).  So, this week when I went looking for a recipe to try on Pinterest, I made sure that there were at least 3 ingredients included that I didn’t already have in my kitchen.  I found this recipe:

Looks yummy, right?  I thought so, and it called for tarragon (one of the few spices I didn’t already own), coconut oil and coconut milk.  That meant it was the perfect meal for the mood I was in…

First, I gathered all my ingredients (this even included a trip to the grocery store): 2lb chicken thighs, 1 can thick coconut milk, 3 tbsp. Dijon mustard, 1 large apple thinly sliced, 1 large sweet onion, 1 tbsp. dried tarragon, 2 tbsp. coconut oil, salt & pepper.

some of the ingredients

Then we made the marinade for the chicken: in a large bowl we combined the coconut milk, tarragon and mustard to make a creamy paste.  Then added salt and pepper to taste.

Use mustard to taste

Once it was combined, we added the chicken and mixed until it was all coated.  Then stuck the whole bowl in the fridge for a few hours to marinate before cooking.

before chicken  after chicken

When we made it to about an hour before dinner, it was time for the next step.  This is where we got to play!  First I got to experiment with coconut oil (it’s similar to lard and has to be melted, but much healthier for you!).  Then we got to use our mandolin!  I love this thing!  It makes extremely thin, even slices!  We used it on both the apple and the onion, then put them in the baking dish and added the melted coconut oil.

mandolin slicing  add coconut oil

Next we put the marinated chicken on top and stuck the covered dish in the oven at 350 degrees to bake for about 45 minutes.

oven ready

It smelled amazing when it came out, but the sauce had thinned out and was really runny when we served it.

table ready

I liked the apples and onions best, mostly because I’m not a huge fan of chicken thighs.  If we make this one again, I’ll have to mix it up and use thighs and breasts.  Also, it probably would’ve been better served over rice, instead of with a baked potato.

What’s the strangest ingredient you’ve ever used in your kitchen?

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

