Quest to Read Them All – Haunted

As I continue on my Quest to Read Them All I’ve made it to the fifth book in Meg Cabot‘s The Mediator series, Haunted.

The Haunted

I’m not sure how I feel about this book.  It was as well written as any of Ms. Cabot’s other books; however, I don’t think it should’ve been a standalone book.  The 4 previous books each had a substantial independent plot while connected to the overall story of the series, that wasn’t really the case with this installment.  It seemed like Suze, the main character in the series – a teenage girl who interacts with ghosts, was more concerned with her love life than with helping the ghost of Craig Jankow move on.  She spent most of the book dealing with her feelings for both Paul Slater and Jesse Diaz.  The climax even centered around a huge fight between Suze’s two suitors, and Craig almost seemed like an afterthought.  The parts that I found most interesting were the introduction of another aspect of Susannah’s powers and the history behind Mediators.  I almost wish that the author would’ve just combined this book with the final book in the series, Twilight.  This book didn’t make me anymore excited to read the last book than I was before I read it.  It’s good that I’ve become invested in the entire series, because if not this book would’ve turned me off.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, read them all

Leave a Reply

