Sunday Sweets – Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

I guess word got around that I can cook, because it sure seems like every time I turn around one or more of Gwen’s friends is coming over for dinner.  But who am I to complain?  They make good guinea pigs for my many kitchen adventures.  I tried this most recent one out on a couple of them, and it seemed like a hit.  I think I’m going to have to use it next time I need to make a birthday cake…  We aren’t big on cake in my house.  Dessert, yes.  Cake, not so much.  So any alternative is a great help.  This time I found the idea on Pinterest (and you’re acting surprised, why?).  I thought it was a homemade take off of those giant cookie cakes they sell.

It wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for, but it was really easy and very delicious.  First I gathered my ingredients (and boy were there a ton!):  store bought refrigerated cookie dough.

cookie pie ingredients

Then I spread the cookie dough out in the bottom of a 9″ round cake pan.  I made sure there were no empty spaces left on the bottom at all.

spreading out the dough  it works better if it's cold  don't miss any spots

Once it’s all covered, it ready for the oven.  You cook it at the temperature recommended on the dough.  I set my oven to 325 degrees and cooked it for 14 minutes.

oven ready  fresh out of the oven

Once it was cooked, I let it cool for 3 minutes (or so) in the pan, then I transferred it to a plate and cut it up like a pie.

cookie pizza

We don’t do anything simple in our house, so we had to top the giant gooey cookies with something even more sugary… caramel sauce and ice cream!

cookie pie ala mode

Who’s coming to dinner next?

1 Comment

Filed under mixed up crazy world, sunday sweets

One response to “Sunday Sweets – Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

Leave a Reply

