Tasty Tuesday – Crock Pot Balsamic Pot Roast

What’s better than some warm and soothing comfort food on a cold winter night?  Nothing, right?  That’s what led me to this week’s recipe.  I grew up eating pot roast, but was never a big fan.  Maybe it was the way my mother made it?  Maybe it was a certain lack of flavor?  I don’t know, but when I wanted to make it myself, I went looking for a new recipe.  And where did I look for this recipe?  I checked through my cookbooks, but none of those recipes seemed to have anything that would shake up the flavor of standard Yankee Pot Roast.  So, it was off to Pinterest in search of an alternative flavor.  That’s where I found this recipe for Balsamic Pot Roast:

I was really excited, because it was a slow cooker recipe, which means that I don’t have to spend a large chunk of my day stuck in the kitchen.  (Now, don’t get me wrong, I do usually end up spending a large portion of my day in the kitchen, but that’s by choice, not command.)

First I read through the entire recipe to make sure I had everything we’d need to make the recipe, which we did!!  Then I got all the ingredients together: a chuck roast (4-5 pounds), red potatoes, baby carrots, an onion (this isn’t part of the original recipe, but what’s pot roast without onions??), beef broth, brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, salt & pepper.

crock pot pot roast ingredients

The recipe only had 4 steps!  It literally took me longer to wash and quarter the potatoes than it did to put the recipe together.  Step one: Season your roast.  (we used garlic powder, salt & pepper)

season the roast

Step two: in a separate bowl combine 1 1/2 cups beef broth, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 tbsp. soy sauce, 1 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes and 3 cloves pressed garlic.  I didn’t measure the red pepper flakes, and used a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic instead.

beef broth for sauce  salt for sauce  brown sugar for sauce  balsamic for sauce

I didn’t get a picture of the soy sauce, red pepper flakes, or whisking it.  Also sorry for the poor picture quality, Like I said earlier, it was a very fast recipe and I got distracted by how quick everything went.  Bad blogger, I should be punished…

Step three:  Put everything but the sauce in the crock pot.  (the roast, 2 lbs. of quartered red potatoes, 1 lb. baby carrots and an onion peeled & halved)

loading up the crock pot

Step four: add the sauce and cook for 6-8 hours on low.

adding the sauce

Wow!  After about an hour my whole house smelled just delicious!  It’s the hardest part about slow cooked meals, they torture you for hours with their yummy smells…  Boy was it worth the wait.  At the 6 hour mark I check the pot and stirred the potatoes to make sure that all of them had some time in the juicy goodness.  I also made some crescent rolls, so we’d have something to sop up the sauce.

crescent rolls

When they were finished (about 6 1/2 hours of cooking the pot roast) I pulled the roast out and cut it, but left everything else in the pot.  Then it was time for dinner!

it falls apart  pot roast dinner!!

Definitely a repeat meal!  Not too expensive, and a really simple recipe.  What’s your favorite comfort food?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

