Adding a Bit of Flavor to Our Coffee

Now that we’ve created an appropriate “Shrine for the Kuerig,” I thought it would be fun to improve the overall coffee making process in our house.  As you all learned earlier I have a huge weakness for Starbucks, and right now it’s a bit out of my budget.  (We are currently working on fixing that shortfall, but while I fully expect to be back to my former spending abilities soon, I hope to have curbed some of my frivolous habits permanently.  Perhaps making it a weekly treat instead of a daily twice daily habit…)  We love Black Teal Lemonades and Caramel Macchiatos, I found a substitute for the BTL, but I wasn’t happy with my options for a Caramel Macchiato.  I went searching on Pinterest (where else?) for possible solutions, and came across these recipes for Coffee Flavoring Syrups:

I was extremely excited!  I had everything I needed to make the Caramel syrup here already, and couldn’t wait to give it a try!  Fist I gathered all my ingredients and supplies together:  1/2 cup of caramel (I used the stuff you put on ice cream), 1 cup of water, and 1 cup of sugar.

caramel coffee syrup ingredients

Next we had to make a simple syrup, which is equal parts sugar and water brought to a boil to combine.

water first  then add the sugar

 

Once the sugar and water are at a rolling boil, add 1/2 cup of the caramel and lower the heat to bring the mixture to a nice simmer for 15 minutes or so.

next add the caramel

Once it was nice and syrupy I look it off the heat and put it into a decorative glass bottle.  I didn’t cap the bottle, so that it would cool and not shatter the glass.

bottling the syrup

Now the bottle sits in a place of pride on the Shrine to the Kuerig.  Just where it belongs in a coffee loving household.

shrine to the keurig

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, hunting for a new home, projecty type stuff, self improvement

Leave a Reply

