Quest to Read Them All – Anne of Green Gables

The next book on my Quest to Read Them All is also a reread from childhood book – Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.

Anne of Green Gables

I loved this book as a kid.  I wanted to be Anne.  I saw the miniseries on PBS and fell in love with the entire town of Avonlea and all of its citizens.  I then had to go hunt down the books and read the entire series.  The red headed orphan from Prince Edward Island, Canada was a bright spot in my youth.  The imagery and characterization that Ms. Montgomery brought to this story is remarkable.  She created an entire universe for her readers, and presented them through the eyes of her waif of a heroine.

Upon rereading the story as an adult, it struck a chord in me again, but for different reasons.  I loved Anne’s relationship with Matthew Cuthbert.  His death actually brought tears to my eyes, because her pain was so familiar to me.  I am now going to have to dig the rest of the series out of the boxes of books still waiting to be unpacked, and work them into my “To Be Read List” in a sooner place than I originally planned.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, family drama, read them all

Leave a Reply

