Tasty Tuesday – Slow Cooker Brown Sugar & Garlic Chicken

I needed to find a meal I could either make ahead, or was very quick to prepare, because I was going to be home late, but everyone still needed to eat.  Hmm, that sounds like a job for our trusty Crock Pot!  I love it.  I can spend 20 minutes before I leave the house setting everything up, turn the sucker on as I walk out the door, and come home hours (and hours and hours) later to a yummy smelling house and a mostly finished meal!  I headed off to Pinterest to find a recipe I liked, and came up with this recipe for “Slow Cooker Brown Sugar & Garlic Chicken.”

First I gathered my ingredients: 3 chicken breasts, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/4 lemon-lime soda (thank you Soda Stream), 1 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic, 2 tbsp. soy sauce, 1 tsp. fresh ground pepper, 2 tbsp. corn starch*, 2 tbsp. water*, & red pepper flakes* (*- I didn’t actually use these ingredients).

brown sugar garlic chicken ingredients

The directions say to spray the inside of the slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray first: I chose not to do this, because my crock pot has a non-stick surface already and why add chemicals when you don’t really have to, right?  So the first direction I actually followed was to put the chicken into the pot.

chicken in crock pot

Then I mixed together the soda, vinegar, brown sugar, garlic, soy sauce and pepper.  When the sugar was completley dissolved, I poured it over the chicken.

brown sugar  add the soda  add soy sauce  add apple cider vinegar  don't forget the garlic  stir to combine

dump it all in the pot

Then I set the crock pot on low for 7 hours.  The next set of directions I chose to omit.  I’m not one for gooey sauces and I decided that I was going to use the liquid to dress the spinach we were having with dinner, so I didn’t remove the liquid and thicken it with cornstarch.  Instead, I served the chicken shredded over rice with a fresh spinach and mushroom salad.

brown sugar & garlic chicken over rice

I was transported back to my childhood with this meal.  When I was a kid, my dad loved this pork chop recipe that came out of the crock pot and the flavors of this meal really reminded me of those meals.  It’s weird what will tug at your heart strings.  What meals bring you back to your youth?

Leave a comment

Filed under family drama, mixed up crazy world, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

