Quest to Read Them All – City of Fallen Angels

As I continue on my Quest to Read Them All, I have once again made my way around to another book in series.  I think I’m just a sucker for a good series.  I don’t know, I’ve never really examined this aspect of my reading choices before, but I do want to learn what happens next and sometimes a single book leaves me hanging.  I become so invested in the lives of the characters, that I need to be able to spend some more time with them, which, I guess, is what a series of books does.  Some of the books in series that I’ve read so far on my Quest include:  Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Christmas on 4th StreetReunion, Not Quite Mine and City of Bones.  That’s not all of them, by any stretch of the imagination, but it is a good sampling of the types of series I enjoy.  This week’s book is the 4th in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, City of Fallen Angels.

City of Fallen Angels

We rejoin Clary, Jace, Simon, Alec and Isabelle at home in New York after the epic battle in Idris.  This book introduces a couple of new characters and develops some of the secondary characters from the earlier books.  Cassandra Clare does her characters a huge service by shifting the focus slightly off Clary and Jace to concentrate on some of the people and relationships surrounding them.  What a great book for a Valentine’s Day post, I felt the main focus of this story was on the relationships of the characters.  Yes there was a fair bit of demonic ass kicking, but I felt most connected with the relationships of the secondary characters.  I was a bit disappointed that Magnus and Alec were absent in the beginning of the story, but they do return at a key point in the book.  I mean really, what would a book in the Mortal Instruments series be without the High Warlock of Brooklyn?  They even went so far as to create a spin off series just for Magnus!  (You better believe that’s been added to my “To Be Read List”!!)  I really changed my opinion on Isabelle in this story, and want to see how things with her and Simon shake out.  I don’t want to give away too much of the book, but it gives the reader so much to look forward to, that I cannot wait to read the next book.  I want to know what happens with everyone!  I’m now not just invested in the lives of Clary and Jace, but in Magnus, Alec, Simon, Isabelle, Maia, and even Camile.  There are some people that say that the series could have ended after the 3rd book, but I am very glad that the author decided to continue sharing the lives of her characters with us.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, read them all

Leave a Reply

