Tasty Tuesday – Grilled Flank Steak with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

We had a bit of a dinner party this week in honor of Valentine’s Day, and needed something on the fancier side of life, that we could serve as individual plates (instead of family style).  I had found a recipe a while back when I was surfing, you guessed it, Pinterest that I thought would work well.  It was for Grilled Flank Steak with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce.

It was a great recipe and worked really well within the prep time I had available for the dinner.  (It only took 30 minutes to put together, including plating.)  First thing I had to do was make sure I had all the ingredients.  I gathered the 1 1/2 pound flank steak, 1 tbsp of butter, 1 cup heavy cream (we used 1/2 cup cream & 1/2 cup of milk), 1 minced shallot, 1/4 pound of gorgonzola (blue) cheese, salt & pepper.  I also pulled out some fresh baby spinach to use on top, and we made cauliflower “mashed” potatoes to complement the meal.

gorgonzola cream sauce ingredients

I took out my grill pan and set it up on the stove to preheat.  I brought it up to medium high heat to get a nice sear on the steak.  I seasoned the steak with salt & pepper on both sides and put it on the grill.  It works best if you jut set it down and leave it be for about 8 minutes, and then flip it over and leave it for another 8 minutes on the other side.  (It comes out nicely cooked – in the medium to medium rare range.)

grilling flank steak - side 1  grilling flank steak side 2

While that was working away, I made the cream sauce.  First I melted the butter, while sauteing the shallots.

working the butter and shallots

Then I added the milk and cream mixture and reduced the liquid by half.

add the cream

Once that was reduced, I added the Gorgonzola cheese and melted that into the mixture.  (Sorry for the bad picture, but it was a timing issue at this point.)

add the cheese

As the cheese was melting, I removed the steak from the heat and set it aside (covered) to rest.  Once the sauce was finished, I sliced the steak, grabbed some baby spinach and the mashed cauliflower.  It was time to make the plates pretty!  First I took a scoop of cauliflower and put it in the middle of the plate.  Next I took 3 slices of steak and stacked them on top of the cauliflower, then I added some spinach.  When all that was piled up prettily, I covered it with a good spoonful of the Gorgonzola cream sauce.

grilled flank steak with gorgonzola cream sauce

I was a ridiculously decadent sauce!  And it wasn’t too expensive to make, now the steak on the other hand was a bit ridiculous.  What’s with the price of meat these days?  What do you like to serve for a fancy dinner?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

